Like A Rose

Posted: August 8, 2013 in From Me To You, Theology
Tags: , ,

I was going through all the worship songs I could lead pretty easily without a lot of needs–like if I had only a lyric sheet and no chords–so I’ve been listening to a lot of old worship music. I’ve been listening to worship leaders I haven’t heard in years now, such as Darlene Zchech. Now there’s a blast from the past, huh? In the midst of all this, I was also thinking back to my classes at my alma mater about the history of modern worship music, the trends in subject matter and approach, etc. I also thought of all the things I’ve heard people say about older “contemporary worship,” both good and bad. Then I ran across “Above All” by Paul Baloche and Lenny LaBlanc.Rose

Though it was written just in 1999, many still consider it “an old song” at this point. Paul and Lenny tell readers about the song’s development on LeadWorship.com, and it is really a beautiful story. As I sat and listened to the song, I remembered how much I loved this song as I went through my teen years. Now I have the added appreciation of the sentiments reminiscent of biblical Wisdom Literature like Job and the Psalms.

No matter how old the song is, we can still find value and use in songs such as this. I encourage you not to blow off old worship songs merely because of the era from which they came, as I have seen worship leaders do time and time again, but take them for the rich theological truths that they can hold for us. Truth be told, much of the newer worship music disappoints me because of the shallowness of the lyrics, the oversimplification of the harmonies, and the cheap melodies that run rampant in our modern Christian culture.

Take each and every song on its own merit. Examine old hymns for their teaching values. Utilize soft musicality to set the mood. Take the invigorating guitar licks from artists like Lincoln Brewster. But please also do Christianity a favor and don’t throw out old worship tunes as Jesus was thrown out, as roses trampled on the ground.

Something To Share?

